« AnteriorContinuar »
Dent to the atten d to ecclesiastical
and arrangement * the rest end
of a pave, south aisle, and chancel ; and, INSTITUTE OF BRITISII ARCHITECTS.
April 20. W. Tite, esq. V.P. in the
arrived in the French capital.
the Emission of Noxious Elluvia from
1188. Interior of same. -- An important for the ensuing year : -President, Earl de
the same subject.
additions which the Crusaders had made,
—and finally the probable plan of the
principal authorities quoted were Bernar rected attention, alluding to the carving
every direction with niches, columns,
application of whitewash, still possess
succeeded in discovering the true principle were, protruded: one pillar is wholly capable of uniform application. Mr. insulated. Similar instances of this, Chantrell exhibited a number of plans and which has been termed "a beauty of other diagrams in elucidation of his unfrequent occurrence," may be found theory; and without which it would be in the churches of Little Addington, impracticable to convey an adequate idea Northamptonshire, and Nun Monkton, of the system.
Yorkshire. Models of a new kind of brick invented Mr. Lechmere exhibited some drawings by Mr. Merrell, of Woodbridge, were of stained glass remaining in the Priory exhibited and explained. The bricks are church of Great Malvern, which, when 80 shaped as to form internal channels for perfect, represented King Henry VII. the passage of air, and consequently pro- and his Queen, Prince Arthur, Sir Regiduce a thorough ventilation of the wall. nald Bray, Sir John Savage, and Sir
Thomas Lovell. The inscription beneath, OXFORD ARCHITECTURAL SOCIETY. as being erected during the lifetime of May 5. The Report of the Com the persons commemorated, commences mittee stated that their attention had been with “Orate pro bone statu'' instead of principally directed to the selection of “ Orate pro animabus." The only figures designs for sepulchral monuments in remaining in a perfect state are those of churchyards, and to the provision of the Prince and Sir Reginald Bray, who painted glass for the new east window of are both represented kneeling at low desks, Dorchester church; and that the Hon. which are usually called faldstools, and G. F. Boyle had been appointed Secretary have been figured as such, though Mr. in the room of Mr. Lowe, who has left Lechmere expressed some doubt as to Oxford.
that being their correct designation. The Rev. W. Sewell, B.D. Vice-Pre. (These are engraved in Carter's Ancient sident, delivered a lecture on the corrup- Sculpture and Painting.) tion of Greek architecture preparatory to The Rev. Henry Thompson, M.A. the introduction of Gotbic.
Corresponding Secretary, read a paper May 26. The Report of the Com on the parish church of Wrington, So. mittee chiefly commented on the presents merset, one of the finest village churches received, which were unusually numerous, in England, and an admirable example of including a large number of impressions the rich and elegant style of Perpendicuof brasses, both ancient and modern. It lar prevalent in that county. The tower was also stated that Mr. E. A. H. Lechmere, especially, is, perhaps, unsurpassed for of Christ Church, had been elected to the harmony of composition and delicacy place on the committee rendered vacant of detail. The manor and church of by the election of the Hon. G. F. Boyle, Wrington being formerly dependencies of as Secretary
the abbey of Glastonbury, there can be The President then read a communica- little doubt but that the present fabric is tion from J. H. Markland, esq. Corre- owing to the munificence of that house. sponding Secretary, on several peculiari. The exact date is uncertain ; but from ties in the Abbey Church of Bath, espe
traces of an earlier roof remaining against cially the remains of pillars of earlier the tower within, it would seem that the date at the east end, which, from the latter was built before the present nave. numerous fragments of Roman antiquity The chancel is, for the most part, a relic found in the city, have been often attri of an earlier building, and is much inbuted to that people, but which he showed ferior in size and richness. The east should rather be considered as fragments window is transition decorated, from of one of the two Romanesque cathedrals, geometrical to flowing tracery. bearing date respectively 1088 and 1140, Mr. Freeman made some remarks which preceded the present building corroborating Mr. Thompson's statement Mr. Markland mentioned the works in on the great merit of Wrington church, the abbey in 1833, which, although with which he was well acquainted. He they took place before church arrange- alluded to other Somersetshire churches, ment was understood, and consequently which were much spoiled by the retention were open to objection on that score,
of the smaller and earlier chancels, insatisfactorily supplanted in many parts stancing Gatton, where the effect of a work of bad character, and brought to light most lofty and magnificent nave is much several concealed features of antiquity.
deteriorated by the low arches of a preMr. Markland also laid before the ceding building remaining under the cen. Meeting a drawing of the interior of the tral tower. This church was remarkable west end of Swainswick church, Somer
for a west front far surpassing the usual setshire, into the body of which the parochial model, even when the church is piers supporting the tower are, as it large and of the cross form,
Nimroud : par
the age of
Mr. Lucas exhibited his models of the pose in the 13th century, introduced a proposed restoration of William of Wyke. general and uniform change and improve. ham's monument. Considerable diffi. ment into the system of ecclesiastical culty had been experienced in ascertain architecture, from which resulted the ing how to supply the loss of some of early Pointed Style, a style perfect and the figures in the niches around the sides beautiful in a scientific and artistic view, of the tomb; he had at length inserted and peculiarly appropriate in its applicaangels bearing shields. The models are tion to the spirit of the Christian faith. painted and gilded.
It was likewise stated, that, in addition to the above views, the Freemasons of the
Church made it an object of their exer. RESTORATION OF ST. JOHN'S GATE. tions to preserve, and, if necessary, to
On the 14th June the Council of the effect the restoration of such architectural College of “ Freemasons of the Church" remains of antiquity as might be threatgave a conversazione, to which admission ened with demolition unnecessarily, or was obtained by a payment, to be applied should be endangered by decay, or, towards the restoration of St. John's Gate, through neglect or local circumstances, Clerkenwell. The rooms were crowded, have become inaccessible to the public. and Sir Walter James, Bart. took the Hence their efforts towards the restorachair
tion of the gate of the Knights Hospi. Mr. J. Wykeham Archer addressed tallers, in Clerkenwell, which was ordered, the meeting at some length, in a discourse in accordance with the directions of the relative to the object of the assembly. He Street Improvement Act, either to be likewise explained the general objects and demolished entirely, or, as an alternative, pretensions of the Architectural College to be covered over with compo. of Freemasons of the Church, describing The recovery, progress, and present hopethe title adopted by the society as one ful aspect of the gate were described, and not intended to express any conformity a strong appeal was made for an extension with the general body of freemasons, but of the necessary means. The lecturer rather as indicative of the professed views then proceeded to give a summary of the of the college, viz., the recovery, mainte. history of the Priory of St. John, and of nance, and furtherance of the free princi. those other circumstances which render ples and practice of architecture ; such the Gate-house interesting. A further having been, in their opinion, the princi- subscription of 101. 108. on the part of ples of the early fraternities so designated, Messrs. Reid was announced, 31. 38. from and who by their labours, under the au. Sir Walter James, and, in addition to other thority of the Pope, and according to the subscriptions, several pounds were proresolutions of a Council held for the pur. cured by the sale of tickets.
SOCIETY OF ANTIQUARIES.
J. G. Teed, esq. Q.C. exhibited an ancient manuscript of Domestic Recipes, of about the year 1377.
George Grant Francis, esq. F.S.A. exhibited the moulds and casts of three Roman inscriptions on a stone discovered lately at Port Talbot, near Aberavon, in Glamor. ganshire. The most legible of these bears the following, in uncial characters :
Dr, Bromet, F.S.A. communicated a
further explanation of the monument at Gavr' Innis, in Britany, together with some rubbings from those of its sculptured stones which he considered the most interesting. A remarkable peculiarity in this monument consists in the interior faces of several of its component stones being engraved with concentric curves resembling eels or serpents; and others with those instruments called celts, or small ovals pointed at one end, but so placed as to give an appearance of their being hieroglyphic characters. There are only two other instances of the kind on record, viz., one formerly near Gavr' Innis called the Pierres Plates, now destroyed, and the one at New-Grange, in Ireland. Another distinctive feature is a sort of staple made in the stone at about three feet from the ground, by three holes communicating with
century, introduced 1 - change and improve tem of eccleiastical
which resulted C, a style perfect and tific and artatic nie opriate in its appien
. f the Christian faith, 1, that, in additica de - Freemasons of the
ohject of their ezers and, if necessary, of such architecten
as might be thres 1 unnecessarils
, ed by decay, a, ocal circumstances
, Eible to the public
, Swards the restoran he Knights Hepi.
which was ordered e directions of the Act, either to be , as an alternative,
compo. and present hope ere described, and e for an extension ; The lecturer
summary of the St. John, and of es which render Sg. A further
on the part of d. 31. 38. from dition to other
Sir Thomas Phillipps, Bart. F.S.A. com John Britton, esq. F.S.A. addressed a municated, from his collection of records, letter to the President “On Cromlechs a new notice of Shakspeare, being a copy and Kistvaens,” accompanied by the exof the will of Thomas Whyttington, hus- hibition of numerous drawings of each bandman, dated the 25th of March, 1601, class of such Celtic monuments. The obby which, among other bequests, he gives ject of this paper was to shew that both to the poor of Stratford 408. then in the the cromlech and the kistvaen were se. hands of Anne Shaxspere, “wyf of Wyl. pulchral in their origin, with this differlyam Shaxspere," and due to him. Among ence between them : the former consists numerous other small bequests we meet, of the largest blocks, which are put fur. -"Item, I give to Thomas Hathaway, ther apart from each other, without any sonne to the late deceased, Margret Hath. attempt to fill the interstices; are placed way, late of Old Stratford, 12d." It will on high ground in open view, instead of be recollected that the marriage bond of being immersed in a barrow, and the lid Shakspeare, and the autograph signature or roof is one large and prominent block, of Sir Thomas Lucy, the well-known instead of being made of several pieces. magistrate, are in the same collection of The kistvaen, or stone chest, is an inclo. records.
sure of stones smaller than those of the The Hou. R. C. Neville, F.S.A. com cromlech, placed in an upright position, municated an account of the examination almost or quite touching each other, enof a group of barrows, five in number, in closing a bottom of rock or stones ; it is the county of Cambridge, and situated at completed by a covering of several flat the distance of a mile and a halt from stones, and closely surrounded by a mound Royston; this was accompanied with illus of earth. They are found not only throughtrative drawings. These barrows give a out our own empire, but also in France, name to the locality, the spot where they Spain, Scandinavia, Russia, and even in stand being called Five Hill Field; and North and South America. They have from commanding an extensive view, they therefore excited great discussion; and have been considered by some as originally while Norden, Camden, Aubrey, Stukeley, intended for beacons. But the researches Borlase, Pennant, and Whitaker advocate of Mr. Neville prove that they were de their funereal appropriation, Toland, Rowcidedly of a funereal character; and cine- land, Pegge, and King maintain that they rary vases, remains of men and animals, were altars for the sacrifice of human vica fragments of charcoal, the iron head of a tims, as alluded to by Cæsar, Tacitus, pike, and a beaatifully preserved large Strabo, and others. Mr. Britton quotes brass coin of Marcus Aurelius, were a long list of writers on this question, and brought to light by excavation. These decisively concludes that the true purpose labours, says Mr. Neville, “ fully establish of these monuments is sepulchral. in my mind an idea I have long held with May 13. Viscount Mahon, Pres. regard to British barrows, that cutting Sir John M. Brackenbury, who forthrough at once to the centre will, in merly resided for many years as the British general, prove inefficacious, though it may Consul at Cadiz, exhibited by the hands be accidentally successful. From the posi- of Sir Henry Ellis a gold ring set with an tion of the remains in those we have been intaglio, found in a Roman tomb at Cadiz considering, it is more than probable that, during Sir John's residence there, about had this plan been adopted, the excavators, mid-way between the city and the fortress owing to the magnitude of the mounds, of Puntales, in the Bay of Cadiz. Within would have missed the articles; and even the tomb were three urns; one was of had they driven horizontal shafts in dif baked earth; another of metal; and the ferent directions from the centre, it is fair third, in which this with four other rings to conjecture that the result would have were found, was of a semi-transparent been the same.
substance, which had the appearance of The Rev. H. T. Ellacombe, F.S.A. alabaster. These urns were immediately communicated the copy of a brief, relating broken by the youths who discovered to the tower of Keynsham church, Somer them, in the hope of obtaining something set, which was destroyed by lightning in
of value from within. Of the rings, one 1632, and a very detailed copy of the held a cameo, which was subsequently church wardens' accounts, shewing the broken; an unpolished emerald ornaseveral sums collected under the said mented the second ; and two others had a brief, and the moneys laid out in the scorpion rudely engraven upon the gold. rebuilding of the said tower from 1632 to The ring now exhibited, the fifth of these, is 1640. This manuscript was accompa. exactly, both as to the ring and the intaglio
lo were pro