« AnteriorContinuar »
in 1639, to that of Durham. Having in consequence of his loyalty rendered himself obnoxious to his countrymen, he was, in 1645, obliged to take refuge in Chirk Castle; but sinking under the fatigue of the journey, together with the severity of the weather, he expired the following Christmas-day.
The epitaph was composed by Dr. Pearson, then Bishop of Chester, at the request of Sir Thomas Myddelton, by whom the monument was erected.
In the year 1709, Dr. Sacheverell was inducted to the living of Chirk. The history of this well-known character affords a striking instance of the folly and madness of exalting an obscure individual, possessed of but moderate talents, to the greatest height of popularity.
Of learning, virtue, and religion he had but little. Furious in high Church principles, he courted alar favour by impetuosity; and, without intermission, exerting himself in the most outrageous and inflammatory discourses against the persons then in power, and endeavouring by every means to excite a rancorous hostility against the Dissenters. A sermon that he preached at St. Paul's, London, was of such a nature as immediately to attract the attention of the public; and a short time after it was printed, upwards of forty thousand copies were circulated over the kingdom.
Being impeached in the House of Commons, he was brought to trial in Westminster-Hall, and, after a hearing of six days, sentenced to be suspended from preaching for three years, and his sermon was directed to be publicly burnt.
This prosecution, however, produced so much animosity in the high Church party, that it ultimately overthrew the Ministry; and, to complete the satire, established the fortune of Dr. Sacheverell, who, during the period of leisure afforded him, made a sort of triumphal progress through the kingdom.
It was before the expiration of this penalty that he was presented with the living of Chirk; for he was not precluded from taking preferment. In his journey thither he escorted through the different towns and villages on the road by multitudes of people, and treated with the greatest magnificence.
Near Bridgenorth he was met by four thousand persons on horseback, and three thousand footmen, most of them wearing
in their hats white knots edged with gold, and three gilded leaves of laurel: the hedges, for two miles from the town, were dressed with flowers; and each of the churches was adorned with flags and colours that cost a considerable sum of money.
The same month that his suspension terminated, he was appointed to the valuable rectory of St. Andrew, Holborn, by Queen Anne; and so great was his reputation, that the copyright of the first sermon which he afterwards was allowed to preach, sold for a hundred pounds.
He had also sufficient interest with the new Ministry to provide handsomely for a brother; and, to crown his good fortune, had a considerable estate left him by a relation.
Little was heard of him after this party ebullition had subsided, except by his numerous squabbles with his parishjoners. The abilities of this turbulent Divine, even according to writers on his own side, were contemptible; and, if we may credit Dr. Swift, he was despised and hated by the very Ministry whom his accidental notoriety so much contributed to support. He died in 1724.
SCRIPTURE ILLUSTRATIONS. Exodus xxvi. 30. “ Thou shalt rear up the tabernacle.”This fabric, having moveable walls of board, was of a more substantial character than a tent; but it is right to regard it as a tent, its general appearance and arrangement being the same, and its more substantial fabric being probably on account of the weight of its several envelopes, which required stronger supports than are usually necessary.
The tabernacle was of an oblong square figure, fifty-five feet in length, by eighteen feet in breadth and height. Its length extended from east to west, the entrance being at the east end. The two sides and west end consisted of a framework of boards, of which there were twenty to each side and eight at the west end. The east end, being the entrance, had no boards, but was furnished with five pillars of shittim-wood overlaid with gold, and each standing on a socket of brass. Four similar pillars within the tabernacle, towards the west or further end, supported a rich hanging, which divided the
interior into two apartments, of which the outer was called “the holy place," and the innermost and smallest was “the most holy place,” or the “holy of holies,” in which the presence of the Lord was more immediately manifested. The separating hanging was called, by eminence, “the vail;” and hence the expression “within” or “without the vail” is sometimes used to distinguish the most holy from the holy place. The people were never admitted into the interior of the tabernacle. None but the Priests might go even into the outer chamber or holy place; and into the inner chamber the High-Priest alone was allowed to enter, and that only once in the year, on the great day of atonement. To this, however, there was a necessary exception, when the tabernacle was to be taken down or set up. The outer chamber was only entered in the morning to offer incense on the altar which stood there, and to extinguish the lamps, and again in the evening to light them. On the Sabbath also, the old shewbread was taken away and replaced with new.
These were all the services for which the attendance of the Priests was necessary within the tabernacle, all the sacrifices being made in the open space in front of the tabernacle, where stood the brazen altar for burnt-offerings.
This description will give an idea of the general arrangement and substantial structure of the tabernacle; and we may proceed to notice the various curtains which were thrown over and formed the outer coverings of the tent. The first or inner covering was of fine linen, splendidly embroidered with figures of cherubims and fancy-work in scarlet, purple, and light blue. It is described in the same terms as the vail of the “ holy of holies," and was doubtless of the same texture and appearance with the vail, which, according to Josephus, was embroidered with all sorts of flowers, and interwoven with various ornamental figures, excepting the forms of animals. Over this inner covering was another, made of goat's-hair, which was spun by the women of the camp. Cloth made of goat's-hair forms the customary covering for the tents of the Bedouin Arabs to this day, and it still continues to be spun and woven at home by the women. Over this covering there was another of ram's skins dyed red,
and over that the fourth and outermost covering of tahash skins. These curtains, after covering, or rather forming, the roof, hung down by the sides and west end of the tabernacle, those that were outside being calculated to protect the more costly ones within, while the whole combined to render the tabernacle impervious to the rain, and safe from the injuries of the weather. This magnificent tent stood in an oblong court or inclosure, particularly described in chap. xxvii. 9-19.Knight's Illustrated Commentary.
WESLEYAN CHRONOLOGICAL NOTICES.
No. XXXIII. 1774. Tuesday, August 9th. The thirty-first Wesleyan Conference is held at Bristol ; respecting which Mr. Wesley observes, “The Conference, begun and ended in love, fully employed me on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.” The ensuing day is spent as one of fasting and prayer for the spread of the Gospel. The “ Articles of Agreement,” as a “foundation of union,” receive the signatures of a considerable number of the Preachers.
Thursday, October 6th. Mr. Wesley, visiting Bristol, meets apart those of the society who had votes in the ensuing election, and strongly advises them, “1. To vote, without fee or reward, for the person they judged most worthy: 2. To speak no evil of the person they voted against : 3. To take care their spirits were not sharpened against those who voted on the other side."
Saturday, November 6th. John Downes, one of the early Methodist Preachers, a man of sincere piety and great affliction, who in the commencement of his ministerial career had been impressed for a soldier and imprisoned, enters triumphantly into rest. In the estimation of Mr. Wesley," he was by nature full as great a genius as Sir Isaac Newton;" displaying in several instances such strength of genius as had scarcely been known in Europe before.
1775. March. Mr. John Crook, a zealous Local Preacher, from Liverpool, visits the Isle of Man, and is instrumental in the establishment of Wesleyan Methodism there. So great,
indeed, is the success which subsequently attends his efforts, that he is designated by many the Apostle of the island.
1775. May 8th. Mr. Wesley commits to the press his celebrated sermon on the Trinity, preached at Cork the day before; one of the most lucid and instructive dissertations ever published on the subject.
Tuesday, May 16th. The third American Methodist Conference is held in Philadelphia. Notwithstanding the gloomy prospect of affairs in that country, then on the eve of civil commotion and bloodshed, an increase of upwards of one thousand members is reported in the returns of the year.
June. Mr. Wesley, whilst travelling in the north of Ireland, is seized with a dangerous fever, so that for some days his life is despaired of. At one period, he appeared to be in the agonies of death; his whole frame being violently convulsed, whilst for some time his heart did not perceptibly beat, nor was his pulse discernible. The sympathies not only of his societies, but also of the public, are strongly excited; the report of his death having been published in the papers, and widely circulated.
Mr. Wesley publishes his “Calm Address to the American Colonies,” then at war with England, the mothercountry; contending, by various arguments, that the supreme power in England has a legal right of laying any tax upon its colonies, for any end beneficial to the whole empire. The publication of this tract gives rise to much excitement in the religious world.
Tuesday, August 1st. The thirty-second Wesleyan Conference commences its sittings at Leeds; when, in consequence of several complaints which had reached Mr. Wesley, the character of the Preachers, as to their “gifts and graces, is subjected to a more than ordinary, yet satisfactory, examination. In reply to the inquiry, “Are not many of the classes too large?” the direction is given, “ Divide every one which contains above thirty members.”
1776. Mr. Wesley publishes, in four volumes, 12mo., “A concise History of England, from the earliest Times to the Death of George II.” The work, partly original, partly abridged, and containing favourable notices of the character