Abbildungen der Seite

Massachusetts-Bay, Rhode-Island, Connecticut, New-York, New-Jersey, Pennsylvania, the Counties of Newcastle, Kent, and Sussex oa Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North-Carolina, South-Carolina, and Georgia, given by their Representatives met together in General Congress in the city of Philadelphia.

And whereas it hath been recommended by the said Congress, on the fifteenth of May last, to the respective Assemblies and Conventions of the United States where no government, sufficient to the exigencies of their assails, hath been hitherto established, to adopt such government as may, in the opinion of the Representatives of the people, best conduce to the happiness and safety of their Constituents in particular, and America in general:

And whereas the Independence of the United States of America has been also declared, on the fourth day of July, one thousand seven hundred and seventy-six, by the said Honourable Congress, and all political connection between them and the Crown of Great-Britain is in consequence thereof dissolved:

We, therefore, the Representatives of the people, from whom all power originates, and

for for whose benefit all government is intended, by virtue of the power delegated to us, do ordain and declare, and it is hereby ordained and declared, that the following rules and regulations be adopted for the future government of this State.

I. The legislative, executive, and judiciarydepartments shall be separate and distinct, so that neither exercise the powers properly belonging to the other.

II. The legislature of this State shall be composed of the Representatives of the people, as is herein .after pointed out: and the Representatives shall be elected yearly, and every year, on the first Tuesday in December; and the Representatives so elected, shall meet the first Tuesday in January following, at Savannah, or any other place or places where the House of Assembly for the time being shall direct.

On the first day of the meeting of the Representatives so chosen, they shall proceed to the choice of a Governor, who mall be stiled Honourable; and of an Executive Council, by ballot, out of their own body; viz. two from each county, except those counties which are '■' - not not vet entitled to send ten Members. One of each county shall always attend where the Governor resides, by monthly rotation, unless the Members of each county agree for a longer or shorter period: this is not intended to exclude either Member attending. The remaining number of Representatives shall be called The House of Assembly, and the majority of the Members of the said House shall have power to proceed on business.

III. It shall be an unalterable rule, that the House of Assembly shall expire, and be at aa end yearly and every year, on the day preceding the day of election mentioned in the foregoing rule. • .

IV. The Representation shall be divided in the following manner: Ten Members for each county, as is herein after directed, excepting the county of Liberty, which contains three parishes, and that shall be allowed fourteen.

The ceded lands north of Ogeechie shall be one county, and known by the name of Wilkes.

The parish of St. Paul shall be another county, and known by the name of Richmond.


The parish of St. George shall be another county, and known by the name of Burke.

The parish of St. Matthew, and the upper part of St. Philip, above Canouchie, shall be another county, and known by the name of Effingham. , .

The parish of Christ-Church, and the lowp. part of St. Philip, below Canouchie, mall bt another county, and known by the name of Chatham.

The parishes of St. John, St. Andrew•, and St. James, mall be another county, and known by the name of Liberty.

The parishes of St. David and St. Patrick shall be another county, and known by the name of Glyn.

The parishes of St. Thomas and St. Mary Æiall be another county, and known by the name of Camden.

The port and town of Savannah shall be allowed four Members to represent their trade.

The port and town of Sunbury shall be allowed two Members to represent their trade.

V. The two counties of Glyn and Camden (hall have one Representative each; and also they, and all other counties that may hereafter

be be laid out by the House of Assembly, shall be under the following regulations, viz. At theiu first institution, each county shall have one Member, provided the inhabitants of said county mall have ten electors; and if thirty, they shall have two; if forty, three; if sixty, four ., if eighty, six; if an hundred and upwards, ten; at which time two Executive Councillors (hall be chosen from them, as is directed for the other counties.

VI. The Representatives shall be chosen out of the residents in each county who shall have resided at least twelve months in this State, and three months in the county where they mall be elected; except the freeholders of the counties of Glyn and Camden, who are in a state of alarm, and who shall have the liberty of chusing one Member each, as specified in the articles of this Constitution, in any other county, until they have residents sufficient to qualify them for more: and they shall be of the Protestant religion, and of the age of twenty-one years, and shall be possessed in their own right of two hundred and fifty acres of land, or some property to the amount of two hundred and fifty pounds.

VII. The

« ZurückWeiter »