Salvation Boulevard: A Novel

Capa
PublicAffairs, 20 de out. de 2008 - 368 páginas
Some cases test a private investigator's wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard, P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect -- who has confessed -- is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he can't stop searching for the real killer and the truth -- no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.
 

O que estão dizendo - Escrever uma resenha

SALVATION BOULEVARD

Comentário do usuário  - Kirkus

A born-again Christian private eye's faith is shaken to the core when he takes the case of the Muslim student suspected of killing his atheist professor."The despair an atheist must feel is ... Ler resenha completa

Salvation Boulevard: A Novel

Comentário do usuário  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Beinhart, Larry. Salvation Boulevard. Nation: Perseus. 2008. c.358p. F~ Author-provocateur Beinhart (Wag the Dog) manages to offend everyone a little bit in this timely page-turner that will generate ... Ler resenha completa

Outras edições - Visualizar todos

Termos e frases comuns

Sobre o autor (2008)

Larry Beinhart is best known as the author of Wag the Dog (originally published as American Hero) on which the film starring Robert DeNiro, Dustin Hoffman, Willie Nelson and Woody Harrelson was based. His No One Rides for Free (1986) received the 1987 Edgar Award for Best First Novel. His most recent book, Fog Facts, a work of nonfiction, examines why some important, even striking, truths are overlooked by the media and the culture at large.

Beinhart spent two years in Oxford, England, where he was the Raymond Chandler Fulbright Fellow at Wadham College. He is a regularly featured blogger on Huffingtonpost.com and his articles have appeared in the New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, the Baltimore Sun, and the Chicago Tribune. He resides in Woodstock, New York, with his wife and two children.

Informações bibliográficas