« AnteriorContinuar »
anima, the meteoris; sphera Jo. de Saero bosco, with some beginningis of geography and insight in the globs and mappes.
This is to be understood, ordinarly, and in peaceable tymes."' The report of the course of St. Andrews is longer and more in detail. Students of the first year were taught Greek and the elements of Hebrew. In the last year, the students were to learn "some compend of anatomy." Then, "because the dyteing of long notes have in tyme past proven a hinderance, not only to other uecessarie studies but also to the knawledge of the text itselff . . . it is thairfor seriouslie recommendit by the Regentis to the Deane and Facultie of Arts that the Regents spend not too much time in dyteing of thair notts; that no new lesson be taught till the former be examined; that everie student have the text of Aristotill in Greek, and that the Regent first analyse the text vita voce." . .
In Edinburgh, in the third year's course, "anatomia humani corporis deseribitur." This is the only Scotch University which notes any attention to prosody. In the classis humaniorum literarum— "docentur classici auctores historici, oratores, poetae; transferunt themata a Latino in vernaculum et a vernaculo in Latinum sermonem. In versibus etiam exercentur."
The effect of Principal Rowe's discipline in the study of his house, we do not learn otherwise than in the continued and increasing attendance of students.
Something of the vigilance of the more ancient academic discipline appears from a few seraps which were found scattered and loose in the Archives of the College, and which it has been
1 Though this brief report of the studies of tion. In 1636 Dr. William Gordon, "medi
Aberdeen says nothing of Anatomy which is cus et alchymuta," having long practised his
joined in the Philosophical coarse in St. scholars in the dissection of beasts, obtained
Andrews and Edinburgh, it must be re- the means of demonstrating from the human
membered that the Median was one of the subject.—Spald, Miscel., II., p. 73. endowed members of Elphiastone's founda
thought proper to suhjoin to this Preface. This "Censura studiosorum" gives briefly the character of every student of the University, and his relative position when compared with others. Unfortunately, it extends only over a few years; but in the fourth or highest class it gives us the names of the students of one year earlier than the earliest list of entrants preserved in the Album.1
A few words must be allowed, of the fabric of our College. Its retired and pretty, rural situation, contrasting with the bustle of the neighbouring town, is now more admired than the edifice itself, which called forth the extravagant praise of its historians in past times. Perhaps no part of the building is entirely as it was left by the founders, Bishops Elphinstone and Dunbar: but the plan and foundations—in many parts the walls—are nearly as at first.
Beside the door which entered under the west window of the Church, (now the library) is inseribed—
per sem1issinumt illnstrissimum ac inbidrssimum |. 4. gjL quarto nonas aprilis anno millesimo et quinrjrntcstma (jot htsigne collegium latomi httpxxuxi ebificarr.
There is no reason to doubt that this inscription is nearly of the date it records, and that the Church, so far as its masonry is concerned, is now as it was left by its venerable founder. Hector Boece, whose book was printed only eight years after Elphinstone's death, records that that Bishop built the Church, the towers, and
1 Appendix to the Preface, No. II.—It as Primi ordinis, the Bajans of that year;
may be necessary to explain its method. The tecundi ordinis, the Semis, who had joined in
students are placed either in linea recta, 1602; lerlii ordinis, the Tertians, of 1601;
that is, in the order in which their names and guarti ordinis, the Magistrand class who
are written, or in circulo—in groupes where had matriculated in 1600. M are equal. The first year, 1603, gives
most of the houses, and covered them with lead;1 and Andrew Strachan, writing, while the Church was still used for the purpose of its foundation, speaks of it almost in the words of Boece, and declares that all its stones and beams proclaim Bishop Elphinstone their founder.2 We can fix the date of the church somewhat more accurately from a document preserved in the Burgh Records of Aberdeen, which bears, that, on the 21st October, 1506, Andrew Cullan, Provost of the Burgh, as factor for William, Bishop of Aberdeen, entered into an indenture of contract with "John Buruel, an Englishman, and plumber to the King of England,3 regarding the roofing of the church of the Bishop's new University."
The windows and ceilings, the marble altars and pulpits of brass,
'" Wilhelmus initiis Aberdonensis studii delectatus, quo res firmius stabilirctur, collegium condidit, opus aedificiorum ornatu et amplitudine magnificum et dignum quod fama semper loquatur. In eo templum tabulatum polito quadratoque lapide, vitriol*, cselaturis, sellis ad sacerdotum, subselliis ad puerorum usum, mira arte fabricatis, marmoreis altaribus et imaginibus divorum, tabulis et statuaria et pictoria arte auratis, cathedris aeneis, aulaeis, tapetibus, quibus parietes atque pavimentum sternorentur." . . . Habet campanile immensa altitu. dine sublaturn, cui lapideus arcus instar imperialis diadematis, mira arte fabricatus, plumbeam supra tecturam adhibetur, tredeeim campanas, melodiam et piam audientibus voluptatem sonantes. Htcc omnia Wilhelmi donaria. . . . Aedes singulae Condi incepts, Canonici juris professori, Coesarei, Medico, Grammatico, a collegio secrctae. Has Wilhelmus non absolvit, morte correptus intempestiva. Collegii templum, turres, et cedes pene omnes tccto plumbeo operuit" Boetii Aberdon. Episc. Vitce, p. 64-6.
* Cujus omnes hodie lapides, omnes trabes
Gulielmum loqui et praedicare videntur et ad ejus memoriam gestire. Et certe cum in cedes oculos converto, Solis regiam mihi videre videor. lllis nihil magnificentius, nihil augustius. Quid referam templum ex polito et quadrato lapide constructum affabre! quid in eo vitrinas, ccelaturas, quid subsellia mira arte fabricata, quid ei incumbens campanile editissimum cui arcus lapideus instar diadematis imperialis manu Daedali efformatus supereminet! quid in eo tredecim campanas quae vel lapides duleissima melodia ad sacra vocarent! quid aulam vel rcgibus invidendam! quid mussea privata! quid publica auditoria quorum vel majestas ad studia invitat! A. Slrachani Panegyricus inauguralis, p. 10. Aberdoniis Excud. Ed. Eaban. 1631.
3 Johannes Buruel Anglicus et plumbarius Regis Anglie." The contract was "penes tecturam ecclesie sue nove universitatis." The plumber undertook to find himself in fire and timber for the work. The other terms of the contract are not preserved.— Vol. of Miscellaneous Records among the Burgh Records of Aberdeen.
celebrated by the historian, are all gone, as well as the more perishable articles of pictures, and images of saints, and the carpets and hangings for decking the church on festivals. It is something that there still remains the shell of the church, with its choir used as a College chapel, and, though deformed by a pulpit thrust into the place of the high altar, still preserving the tomb of its founder and the fine oak stall-work which excited the admiration of the first Principal.1
The buildings, left unfinished by Elphinstone, were completed by another munificent prelate, Bishop Gawin Dunbar; and.the south side of the quadrangle, from being chiefly his work, was long known as 'Dunbar's buildings.'2
We have notices of successive repairs of the College buildings in Bishop Patrick Forbes' time, but directed evidently with laudable care to replace and restore without alteration.3
In 1G33, on the 7th February, a violent storm blew down the erown of the steeple, the wonderful structure * after the manner of an imperial diadem.' "This goodlie ornament, haveing stood since the dayes of that glorious King, James IV., was by ane extraordinar tempest of stormie wind thrown downe; quherby both the
1 The nave of the Church is shut off by a partition, and now forms the principal apartment of the library. The tomb of Elphinstone, of black marble, two feet high, with holes where the brass ornaments have 'been attached, stands, in the middle of the choir, the present chapel. The extremity of the three-sided apse is filled by an oak pulpit, which is now used by a Sunday lecturer. It bears the name of Bishop Patrick Forbes, with the date 1627. The Bishop would hardly have approved of its present position. Against the north wall of the Chapel, also, now stands another pulpit, lately brought from the Cathedral, which shows the arms and initial letters
of Bishop William Stewart. It has been appropriated to the use of the hebdomadar Regent. The stalls, thirty in number, with canopies and folding misereret; and the tublellia, twenty-two in number, all of exquisite work in oak, and in wonderful preservation, still indicate where the rood loft divided the choir from the nave.
'" Donaides" Auctore J. Ker, 1725, p. 15.
3 1621-3, Infra, p. 277, 282. Strachan, speaking of the three Bishops, Elphinstone, Dunbar, and Forbes (the last being still alive) says—" primus academiam fundavit; secundum conservavit ct ampliavit; tcrtius eara prope-modum collapsam restituit."—Paucgyrxcut inaugurate, 1631, p. 7.
roofes of tymber and lead, and other adjacent workes, wer pitifullie crusched."1 The members of the College, with the assistance of their neighbours, in particular the burgh of Aberdeen, immediately applied themselves to repair the erown; which, Spalding assures us was 're-edefeit and biggit wp litle inferior to the first.'2 The church roof, which had been injured by its fall was not repaired apparently, till 1638.3
The Parson of Rothiemay's drawing4 shows the University buildings as they stood after that repair, and after the erection of an unsightly edifice which he inseribes "the new works"—' the new building reared up at the north-east corner of the said College,'5 by a subseription begun in 1658, which contained lecture rooms, and an observatory at top, the latter added in 1675.6 The roof of the church is evidently of the middle of the seventeenth century, and the pretty lantern spire bears the cipher of Charles II. We learn from Gordon's drawing that the library, the jewelhouse, and the "second school" were then in a sort of aisle running along nearly the whole south wall of the church, the work of Bishop William Stewart.7 The common school and
1 Infra, p. 309. The words are Dr. John Forbes's. The exact day of the catastrophe is recorded by Spalding —Club edit., p. 31.
1 The architect was Dr. William Gordon, professor of medicine, "a godlie, grave, learned man, and singular in common works about the College, and putting up on the ■teiple thereof, most glorious as you see, ane staitlie crowne, throwne down be the wynd before."—Spalding, p. 257.
i Infra, p. 410. • *" Descriptio utriustluo urbis''—Spalding Club. The drawing was executed before 1661.
5 Infra, p. 537- The list of subscriptions extendi over many years, combining in the same purpose Cromwell's Captains and Co
lonels, and the Bishop and Clergy after the Restoration.
6 Orem, p. 182. On the wall is inscribed —"1658—Insignes has aides extruendas curarunt Coll. Regii moderatores, Joa. Row Principalis. Ja. Sandilandis J.C.P. And. Moore Med. P. Pat. Sandilandis, Subpr. P.P. Joa. Brodie H.L.P. Geo. Gordon, And. Massie, Gul. Johnston, Reg. P.P.P." Slezer's view, thirty year's later than Gordon's, represents the "new work" as terminated with the minaret-looking observatory of 1675, and ornamented with balustrades and pinnacles, and much more picturesque than it appears in the earlier view, or at present.—Descr. of both tmmi, p. 26.
7" Donaides" auctorc J. Ker, 1725.—p. 15