Abbildungen der Seite

Every member of this Society should avail himself of the present opportunity to procure these volumes.

The legislature having appropriated $2,500 each for the years 1887 and 1888, the committee feels justified in saying that, with the balance now on hand, of the appropriation for 1886, there can be published five volumes of Collections. These will contain the proceedings of 1887 and 1888, the papers read at the annual meetings of the Society for these years, with such other original matter as is now in the archives of the Society or as may be acquired in the meantime.

“The Pioneer and Historical Society of the State of Michigan ” is now established on a basis that must insure its continuance.

It has already accomplished, during its brief existence, results of greater importance, in securing original historical material, than many other state societies that were organized before Michigan was admitted into the Union.

It is the intention of the Society to be unremitting in its efforts to secure an authentic history of the settlement of every county in the more recently settled parts of the state. These, though now lacking in interest, with many readers, will, with the passage of time, come to be looked upon as being of as much or more importance than is now the history of the occupation of the state by the French and English. The degree of interest manifested in these, our annual gatherings, is a most certain guarantee of the continuance of the prosperity of the Society. * Repectfully submitted,

MICHAEL SHOEMAKER, Chairman. LANSING, Mich., June 1, 1887.

[ocr errors]




MRS. ALMIRA HART, died in Otsego Sept. 21, 1886, aged 72 years and 14 days; came to Otsego in Nov. 1839, and was resident of the county nearly 48 years.

ABRAM Hong, died in Otsego Oct. 31, 1886, aged 73 years; came to Otsego :12 1836, and was a resident of the county about 51 years.

SHERMAN P. STANLEY, died in Allegan Nov. 24, 1886, aged 59 years and 4 months; came to Allegan in July, 1847, and was a resident of the county 39 years.

STEPHEN D. Nichols, died in Saugatuck Feb. 2, 1887, aged 80 years, y months and 28 days; came to Saugatuck Sept. 29, 1834, and was a resident of the county over 52 years.

WILLIAM FINN, died in Muskegon March 3, 1887, aged 80 years and a months; came to Allegan May 25, 1836, and resided in Allegan county most of the 50 years since coming here.

MRS. HARRIET D. MANKIN, died in the township of Hopkins, on the 5th of March, 1887, aged 61 years, 9 months, and 17 days; came to Hopkins April 5, 1854, and was a resident of the county 32 years and 11 months.

JOSEPH W. DREW, died in Otsego April 27, 1887, aged 67 years, 7 months and 14 days; came to Otsego in Sept. 1836, and was a resident of the county over 50 years.

MRS. Rhoda M. Bliss, died in Allegan April 29, 1887, aged 58 years, 6 months and 12 days; came to Gun Plain in 1835, and was a resident of the county about 52 years.

WILLIAM H. WOODHAMS, died in Plainwell May 20, 1887, aged 85 years, 7 months and 8 days; came to Gun Plain, Oct. 12, 1846, and was a resident of the county about 40 years.

Mrs. SABRA R. ALLEN, died in Otsego June 30, 1887, aged 68 years, 8 months and 4 days; came to Otsego in 1852, and was a resident of the county 35 years.



Mrs. George Lord died June 12, 1886, aged 66 years.
Mrs. Joseph Eddy died November 27, 1886, aged 83 years.
Mrs. John Drake died December 10, 1886, aged 62 years..
Nathan Knight died December 30, 1886, aged 70 years.

Dr. George E. Smith died February 15, 1887, aged 62 years.
Wm. McEuan died March 10, 1887, aged 64 years.
Susan J. Munger died May 7, 1887, aged 59 years.


Mrs. George Lord, whose maiden name was Calphurnia D. Fay, died in Bay City, June 12, 1886. Mrs. Lord was born in Hamilton, Madison county, N. Y., February 1820; was married to George Lord in 1840; came to Lower Saginaw, now Bay City, in 1854, and had resided there 32 years. She lived to see the place increase from a few inhabitants to a population of 40,000. She was always noted for her charity to the poor. She leaves a husband and three children, two boys and one girl. She was a lady who will be greatly missed for her many acts of charity. She was a sister of Hon. Wm. L. Fay, whose memorial is published in vol. 7, page 344.


Mrs. Susan Eddy, wife of Joseph Eddy, died November 27, 1886, at the old home in the township of Hampton, Bay county. Mrs. Eddy was born in Tiverton, Rhode Island, August 13, 1804, and was consequently 82 at the time of her death. She was married to Joseph Eddy at Onlyville, Rhode Island, June 4, 1826. Her maiden name was Susan Salsbury.

Mr. and Mrs. Eddy emigrated to the state of New York in 1836, and in 1855 came to Bay City, Michigan. In 1858 they bought a farm in the township of Hampton, where this good woman died. She had seven children, six sons and one daughter. During the war of the Rebellion she sent three of her boys to save their country; they all distinguished themselves and returned safe to their noble mother to cheer her declining days.

Mrs. Eldy was one of the noblest of women, her charity and noble qualities endeared her to all. She was a strict member of the Baptist church. She will long be remembered by the old pioneers of Bay county.


Mrs. John Drake died at the family residence, 1001 Center Avenue, Bay City, on the morning of December 10, 1886, after an illness of a few weeks, aged 62 years and 11 months.

Mrs. Drake's maiden name was Emma Dixon. She was born at Appleby, Westmoreland, England, January 3, 1824; removing to Canada with her parents in 1832, where she was married in 1844 to John Drake, a successful merchant of the Province of Upper Canada. Here he carried on his business till 1852, when, with his wife, he removed to Lower Saginaw, becoming pioneers of what is now the thriving town of Bay City, where they have since resided, with the exception of two years passed in Detroit. For a number of years Mrs. Drake was an invalid, resulting from a fall, but recovering, she renewed her social connections with her many warm friends and acquaintances whom her kindness of heart, affability and true Christian character had won for her.

Mr. and Mrs. Drake had four children; two infants, a boy and a girl, died in Canada; a daughter aged seven years died at Lower Saginaw in November, 1858, and another daughter aged seven years and three months died in August, 1860. After the last of her own offspring had passed away, Mrs. Drake's motherly instincts were exercised in caring for others who required her sympathy and attention; during the latter period of her life she took to her heart and home two orphaned grandnieces, who are now bereft of a second mother.

Mrs. Drake was one of the original members of Trinity Church, and her exertions in its behalf and in promoting the cause of Christ generally, and her true Christian graces have tended greatly to promote the growth and interests of that church.


· Hon. Nathan Knight, one of the old pioneers of the township of Hampton, Bay county, Michigan, died at the old homestead December 30, 1886. Mr. Knight was born in Otisfield, Maine, July 14, 1817. His father came to Michigan in 1826, and settled in the township of Avon, Oakland county, and was followed by his son, Nathan, in June, 1829. Nathan was educated at Austinburg Institute, Ohio. He afterwards taught school and clerked for ten years.

He came to the township of Hampton, Bay county, in 1856, and commenced farming. He was a representative in the state legislature from Bay county for two terms, 1877 to 1880 iuclusive. He held the office of justice of the peace for ten years, and school commissioner. He also held the office of supervisor of the township of Hampton for twelve consecutive years. He was married Oct. 12, 1850, to Miss Harriet Stevens, of Avon, Oakland county, Mich. He had three children, but only one, a son, survives him.

Mr. Knight was a man universally respected by all classes of people, and especially by the old pioneers. He was a member of this Society for a number of years.


Dr. George Edward Smith died February 15, 1887, at his home in Bay City. Dr. Smith was born in Troy, Oakland county, Michigan, October 2, 1825. He came to Saginaw in 1837, where he learned the trade of a printer, when his health failed. To improve it he accompanied his brother, Capt. David Smith, on a trip or two on the schooner, Coneaut Packet, and was shipwrecked on Lake Huron, above Goderich, on the Canada shore. They were given up for lost, and it was some six weeks before they were heard from, it being late in the fall when they put in an appearance, nearly naked aud with scarcely any shoes on their feet. There was great rejoicing among their friends when they arrived.

He then commenced the study of medicine with Dr. George Davis, of Saginaw City, and graduated at the Cleveland Medical College of Ohio, in 1851. He removed to Lower Saginaw, now Bay City, the same year. He was married about this time to Miss Abbie Hart, of Lapeer, by whom he had four children. Dr. Smith was the first physician in the lower end of the Saginaw Valley. In 1861 he went into the mercantile business which he followed up to 1878, when he again assumed his profession. Dr. Smith was postmaster of Bay City for many years previous to 1861.

He was an elder in the Presbyterian church from its organization until his death.


• William McEuan, one of the pioneers and business men who have helped to make Bay City, died at Ontario, California, where he had gone for his health, on March 10, 1887.

Mr. McEuan was born in Glasgow, Scotland, March 5, 1823. He came to America in 1848, stopping first in New York, and then coming to Detroit and Chicago, at each place working as a machinist. He had learned his trade at Napier's famous works in Glasgow, and brought with him papers of recommendation from them, which, however, he never needed to use, his work recommending itself.

In 1850, he with his brother, Alexander, came to Bay City, then Lower Saginaw, and built the mill at “Woodside," still known as the “McEuan Bros.' mill.” Alexander died in 1853 and the business was continued by William and his brother John.

February 4, 1858, he married Annie, the eldest daughter of the late James Fraser, the founder of Bay City, by whom he had six children, five of whom survive. The eldest son, James F., died in 1877, at the age of eighteen years.

Mr. McEuan had been much of the time, for the last fourteen years, out of health and of active business, but still attending to many interests, and in all that concerned the growth and progress of Bay City he was always ready to do a full share.

« ZurückWeiter »