Imagens da página
[blocks in formation]

Printed by virtue of an Act of the Legislature, ander the direction and suporvision of

[merged small][merged small][subsumed][merged small][graphic][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]





Lansing, Wednesday, January 6, 1869. Pursuant to the requirements of the Constitution, the members elect to the House of Representatives of the Legislature of the State of Michigan, for the year 1869, assembled in the Representative Hall of the Capitol, at Lansing, on Wednesday, the sixth day of January, at 11 o'clock A. M., and were called to order by Nelson B. Jones, Clerk of the last House. Prayer was offered by Rev. J. A. B. Stone, D.D., of Kalamazoo.

Upon examining the credentials of members, it was ascertained that the several counties were fully represented, except the county of Keweenaw, the second district of Monroe county, and the fourth district of Oakland county.

On motion of Mr. R. B. Smith,
Hon. B. W. Huston, of Tuscola county, was chosen Speaker

pro tem.

On motion of Mr. Ingersoll,

The Speaker pro tem. was authorized to appoint a Sergeantat-Arms pro tem.

The Speaker pro tem. appointed Abner Barlow, of Wayne county, as Sergeant-at-Arms pro tem.

Mr. Dasseau moved that a committee of two be appointed to wait on Lieutenant Governor Bates, and invite him to administer the oath of office to the several members elect;

Which motion prevailed.

The Speaker pro tem. appointed Mr. Dusseau, of Monroe, and Mr. Sanford, of Ingham, as such committee.

After a short absence, the committee reported Lieutenant Governor Bates in attendance.

The roll of the members was then called by counties and districts, when the following members answered to their names, and having subscribed and taken the oath of office, were admitted to seats as Representatives in the Legi-lature of the State of Michigan:

Allegan County-1st District, Frank D. Stockbridge; 2d District, Milo E. Gifford.

Barry County-1st District, Robert J. Grant; 2d District, Adam Elliott.

Bay County-Luther Westover.

Berrien County-1st District, Almond B. Riford; 2d District, Emory M. Plimpton; 3d District, Julian M. Seward.

Branch County-1st District, James A. Williams; 28 District, Ezra Bostwick; 3d District, Isaac D. Beall.

Calhoun County-1st District, Benjamin Clark; 2d District, Loomis Hutchinson; 3d District, John Wagner.

Cass County-1st District, Uzziel Putnam, Jr.; 2d District, James Ashley

Clinton County-1st District, Franklin L. Smith; 2d District, Aaron Sickels.

Eaton County-1st District, Edmund W. Hunt; 2d District, Almon A. Thompson.

Genesee County-1st District, Dexter Horton; 2d District, Edward M. Mason; 3d District, James L. Curry.

Grand Traverse County, etc.— William H. C. Mitchell.
Gratiot County-Horace T. Barnaby.

Hillsdale County-1st District, Henry McCowen; 2d District, Harvey B. Rowlson; 3d District, John M. Osborn.

Houghton County-John Q. McKernan.
Huron County-Joseph W. Snell

Ingham County-1st District, Geo. P. Sanford; 2d District, Daniel L. Crossman.

Ionia County-1st District, Robert B. Smith; 2d District, Abiel S. Stannard.

Jackson County-1st District, John H. Hubbard; 2d District, Jerome B. Eaton; 3d District, Levi N. Goodrich.

« AnteriorContinuar »